(Photo by Agence QMI / Joel Lemay)

by Chris G, Digital Radio Producer, All Habs Hockey Magazine

BROSSARD, QC. — The second day of the Canadiens 2018 began with some off-ice exercises on the soccer field, followed by on-ice drills with the coaching staff.

The scrimmage at the end of the day was two 25-minute periods of non-stop time of 5-on-5 hockey. Laval Rocket head coach, Joel Bouchard, was behind the bench for Team Red, while Rocket assistant coach, Daniel Jacob, was in charge of Team White. Marc Bergevin, Claude Julien, and Dominique Ducharme were watching the scrimmage from the press box.

T.J. Melancon (free agent) opened the scoring for Team Red in the first period with a shot from the point 14 minutes into the period. Ten minutes into the second period, Ryan Hughes (try-out) tied the game for Team White by putting one past Michael McNiven. The teams weren’t able to score before the end of the second period to break the tie.

The scrimmage was followed by a shootout with each team sending five players to score. Team White lit up McNiven as Michael Pezzetta, Alexander Katerinakis, and Jarret Tyszka put the puck by the Rocket goaltender. Michal Moravcik was the only player from Team Red who scored in the shootout.

Three stars for Day 2

  1. Jarret Tyszka – solid performance and shootout goal
  2. T.J. Melancon – one goal
  3. Jacob Olofsson – solid performance

Development camp scrimmage – June 30, 2018

Team Red – 1
Goals: Melancon

Team White – 1
Goals: Hughes


Team White  Team Red
78 Vladimir Bryukvin
68 Jack Gorniak
48 Cameron Hillis
72 Samuel Houde
85 Ryan Hughes
82 Alexander Katerinakis
47 Jesperi Kotkaniemi
55 Michael Pezzetta
51 Jesse Ylonen
64 Jeremiah Addison
77 Will Bitten
71 Cole Fonstad
81 Brandon Hagel
50 Allan McShane
43 Jacob Olofsson
44 Ryan Poehling
91 Anthony Rinaldi
86 Joel Teasdale
60 Simon Bourque
83 Cale Fleury
94 Otto Leskinen
57 David Sklenicka
74 Jarret Tyszka
56 Jordan Harris
96 Cameron Lee
61 T.J. Melancon
73 Michal Moravcik
84 Adam Plant
80 Stephen Dhillon
75 Etienne Marcoux
35 Cayden Primeau
40 Samuel Harvey
70 Michael McNiven
95 Gabriel Mollot-Hill


Alexandre Alain
Jake Evans
Joni Ikonen
Hayden Verbeek