(Photo by Chris G | © Rocket Sports Media) Mandatory Credit Required

by Chris G, Digital Radio Producer, All Habs Hockey Magazine

BROSSARD, QC. — The 40 players invited to the Canadiens 2018 Development camp started off the day on the soccer field at Complexe Sportif Bell in Brossard for some exercises before hitting the ice. 

The head coach of the Laval Rocket, Joel Bouchard led the 45 minute on-ice sessions with the players. Rocket assistant coach, Daniel Jacob, along with Rob Ramage and Francis Bouillon from player development were on the ice with the players. Claude JulienDominique Ducharme and Kirk Muller were keeping an eye on the on-ice sessions from the press box. Bouchard and his team were focused on skating drills and on one-on-one battles.

The roster was split into Team Red and White for the scrimmage at the end of the day. Josh Brook (D), did not participate due to a wrist injury, and will be re-evaluted. The scrimmage consisted of two-25 minute periods of non-stop time.

Even though teams played 4-on-4, there wasn’t much scoring as Team Red won by a score of 2-0. Jacob Olofsson, (56th pick, 2018) opened the scoring in the second period by putting a rebound passed goaltender Stephen Dhillon. Later in the period, Olofsson was able to take the puck away from the defender in the offensive zone which led to a goal by Brandon Hagel following a nice pass by his teammate, T.J. Melancon. 

At the conclusion of the scrimmage, there was a shootout with each team sending five  skaters to score, but the goalies, Stephen Dhillon and Gabriel Mollot- Hill, stopped all 10 attempts.

Three stars for Day 1

  1. Jacob Olofsson – solid performance including game winning goal
  2. Brandon Hagel – one goal
  3. Jesse Ylonen – fast skater

Development camp scrimmage – June 29, 2018

Team Red – 2
Goals: Olofsson, Hagel

Team White – 0
Goals: no scoring


Team White  Team Red
78 Vladimir Bryukvin
68 Jack Gorniak
48 Cameron Hillis
72 Samuel Houde
85 Ryan Hughes
82 Alexander Katerinakis
47 Jesperi Kotkaniemi
55 Michael Pezzetta
51 Jesse Ylonen
64 Jeremiah Addison
77 Will Bitten
71 Cole Fonstad
81 Brandon Hagel
50 Allan McShane
43 Jacob Olofsson
44 Ryan Poehling
91 Anthony Rinaldi
86 Joel Teasdale
60 Simon Bourque
83 Cale Fleury
94 Otto Leskinen
57 David Sklenicka
74 Jarret Tyszka
56 Jordan Harris
96 Cameron Lee
61 T.J. Melancon
73 Michal Moravcik
84 Adam Plant
80 Stephen Dhillon
75 Etienne Marcoux
35 Cayden Primeau
40 Samuel Harvey
70 Michael McNiven
95 Gabriel Mollot-Hill


Alexandre Alain
Jake Evans
Joni Ikonen
Hayden Verbeek